The American Geophysical Union (AGU), a Washington, D.C.-based international nonprofit scientific association with more than 60,000 members, works on a broad spectrum of scientific topics that span all of the Earth and space sciences. Established in 1919 as a committee within the National Research Council of the National Academy of Sciences, AGU was independently incorporated in 1972. Since its founding, the organization has remained dedicated to advancing Earth and space sciences.

AGU is built on a foundation of shared ideals that include:

  • Valuing the scientific method
  • Generating and disseminating scientific knowledge
  • Exchanging ideas and information freely
  • Respecting a diversity of ideas and approaches
  • Maintaining accountability to the public
  • Achieving excellence and integrity in everything we do
  • Delivering science that is accurate, peer reviewed and well respected

AGU’s Mission

To promote discovery in Earth and space science for the benefit of humanity.

AGU Members

AGU members work for corporations, universities, nonprofit organizations, research labs, and federal, state, and local government agencies, and their research influences everything from agriculture to energy and transportation. Their research encompasses everything from exploration of the planets to understanding natural hazards on Earth and in space; from the search for resources like coal and oil to predicting the impact of air pressure, temperature, water vapor, and wind speed on our weather; and from studies of hydrology and water resources to understanding the Earth’s atmosphere and the causes of climate change.